Schedule News Sponsors Results Points Photos Videos Directions Rulebook Downloads Forums Contact

Independence Day extravaganza at the Speedway

It was Independence Day weekend at the Southern New Mexico Speedway and it was Dynamite! The Bombers, Late Models, Street Stocks and the X-Mods put on a show for a jam packed grandstand. The energy at the Speedway was on fire, especially during the Famous Firework show put on by Mesilla Valley Transportation.

Jump starting the night were the Bombers. Peter Vargas pulled ahead and quickly took a lead. Mike Mays and John Delph were battling back and forth lap for lap for second. With nine laps left to go Gary Mays spun out in turn two bringing the first caution in the mains. Once the racers got back at it there was no catching Vargas as he pulled even farther ahead. With four laps to go Mike Mays’s car started to spark and it was lights out for him. With Mays out of the race nothing stood between Vargas and his main event win.

Next up the Late Models got off to a rocky start bringing a complete restart after Rogelio Perez spun out. Once they got going Johnathan Ortega pulled into the lead with Sherman Barnett pushing everyone out of the way and snagging the second spot. Back to back cautions after Billy Roy Harris brought on a yellow with 11 to go after spinning out in turn four and Barnett stalled out in turn two. With Barnett out of the picture Scott Logston snagged up the second spot and got door to door with Ortega with 10 laps left to go. With eight left to go Logston maneuvered around Ortega and stole the leader spot and held it down all the way to the winner’s circle.

Tearing up the track next after the Famous Firework show was the Street Stocks. A couple cars got loose in turn two bringing on a complete restart. With everyone back in place they took off with Jeffery Maag pulling ahead early on. With 17 laps to go Jon McDaniel and Jason Ziehl passed Maag, but a caution allowed Maag to stay in second with McDaniel holding on to the leader’s spot. With the green McDaniel was off like a rocket leaving everyone in his tracks, and Maag fell back into the pack. Lasiter moved up in position snagging up the second spot before another yellow brought McDaniel and Lasiter back nose to tail. McDaniel didn’t want to give Lasiter a chance to pass him pulling ahead yet again. The battle then began between Lasiter and Ziehl for the second position. Lasiter had it until there were four laps to go and Ziehl passed him. With three laps left to go a caution is called on Rudy Munoz just as Ziehl was making his way around McDaniel. With the green flag waiving again McDaniel regained his lead and made his way to to the checker flag.

Next up the Mini Sprints had a complete restart out of the gate when Sal Gomez got loose in turn two. Once they got going Jerrad Warhurst took a lead and put some distance between himself and the rest of the pack. With 12 laps left to go Gomez got loose in turn four and flipped upside down. With the second yellow in the mains that was game over for Gomez. The drivers revved up again and Warhurst wasted no time to pull ahead again with Jett Carney trying to get around him. Warhurst was not going to let that happen, snagging up the win.

The final main of the night was the show stopping X-Mods that went four wide to celebrate the Independence Day weekend. At the start the racers got excited and had the fourth and fifth complete restart of the night. The second restart was caused when multiple cars piled up going into turn four. Once they got the wreckage cleared off the track it was game on as Fito Gallardo shoved his way in front of Royal Jones for the lead. Jones was riding Gallardo’s bumper until Gallardo laid down on the gas and put some distance between them. With 12 laps left to go Rick Gallardo stalled in turn two and brought Fito Gallardo and Jones back together. Fito Gallardo maintained his lead but another caution as Duane Murphy spun out and slammed into the front straight away fence. After this start Jacob Gallardo came from behind and stole the second place spot from Jones. Jones started falling to the back of the pack and then pulled off into the infield. Now there was no stopping Fito Gallardo from securing his win and taking the trophy for the night.

Next Saturday night you will not want to miss the return of the ASCS Winged Sprint Cars, USRA Street Stocks, USRA Limited X-Mods and Super Trucks. See you at the races!